![]() |
![]() | |
![]() |
|
![]() |
compiled by Urza
Yeah, yeah. I've heard it all... you're back in school, back to hard work, the summer's over. Forget it! You can't enjoy the letters if you're in that mood! Well, anyway, let's open the mailbag and see what's here... Oh! Here's one that's about a letter I answered last month about Dual Lands. I had said that lands such as Bayou, which produce two types of mana, count as both basic land types they represent. He says:
Well, as I had said, Bayou does, in fact, count as both, which means forestwalking creatures can get by with it out. An-Havva Township, however, is different. What it does is produces a colorless mana by tapping, one green mana for (1) and tap, white for (2) and tap, and red, also, for (2) and tap. That is not a Dual Land. A Dual Land is a land that produces one of two mana types by tapping, and has the addition of saying in the card text "Counts as both a (land) and a (land)". That goes for Timberline Ridge as well, which is one of Ice Age's "depletion lands", which are just like Dual Lands but, with it's side affect involving depletion counters, can only be used once every other turn. Therefore, Aspect of Wolf (which is an Enchant Creature that increases the power and toughness of the creature equal to the number of forests you control, rounding down for power and up for toughness), does indeed count Bayou as a forest, but not the other two. In the same way, the Bayou would become a 1/1 creature with a Living Lands out, which turns all forests into such.
Next question is from... hey, who stole the letter? MISHRA! Get back here with that letter! Ok, sorry about that. Sometimes my brother, well... gets a little wild. It's all due to the fact that I beat him in the Brothers' War, but that's ancient history, and now is neither the time nor the place... Anyway, the question comes from Mark Davey. He asked:
This seems like a really stupid question, I know, but does a Counterspell: a) Counter a spell I target b) Counter a spell that targets something? I would really appreciate the help. That's actually not all that of a stupid question. The answer is: A. Counterspell counters a spell you target, not a targetting spell. Whenever Magic cards mention 'target something', that's what they mean. The writer of the previous letter also wrote to us with the following:
I am becoming interested in getting an expansion set soon and need some help. Which expansions do what new and interesting? Ah, the age old question of what to buy. From the ones out on the market now, I'd suggest getting Weatherlight. It has some really cool cards that will make a fun game. Mirage is also good, but some cards are a bit confusing, since it introduces 2 new abilities (Phasing and Flanking). Of course, 5th edition cards are always good to stick with, too.
The next question also has to do with buying cards and expansions...
I keep hearing about a new expansion to M:tG called 'Tempest'. What it is? When will it be in stores? Will Well, I'm sure that many people reading this are awaiting this new set, "Tempest", along with Will. According to Wizards of the Coast, Tempest should be out in October, along with its new story. From what I've heard, it's a continuation of Weatherlight. I'd rather let you read all about it on the Wizards of the Coast web site, instead of explaining it here. Just go to http://www.wizards.com/About_Wizards/Press_Releases/MTG/Tempest_Release.html for the press release, including descriptions of the story.
Anyway, back to the rules questions...
Thanks! Blackstaff Interesting question... but unfortunately, the answer is no. When a creature regenerates, it never actually goes to the graveyard. It stays in play, with all of it's counters and enchantments. Because of that, your Llanowar Sentinel still has its 3 -1/-1 counters, which leaves it dead yet again when it comes into play, and goes to the graveyard. In answer to a question that frequently came up when I was playing with friends, you can't regenerate the creature each time it goes to the graveyard in this situation. The reason why is that a creature goes to the graveyard at the end of any phase. As soon as the creature has enough damage to kill it, or is reduced to toughness less than 0, it starts a new damage prevention phase. Every time you regenerate it, it goes through damage prevention again, dying each time. Therefore, if you don't want to spend all of your mana regenerating a creature that will finally die when you run out of lands to tap, go right ahead. It's just not all that smart.
This next, and final question comes from Tanaquil Furfoot. It reads:
Gorilla Berserkers can be blocked only by AT LEAST three creatures. Therefore, one creature can't stop it. If there are three or more creatures available, it can be blocked with as many as the defender wants, as long as he or she blocks with the minimum of three. That's it for this month. Farewell, and have a good time until the next time we meet. Keep sending your letters to r***e@m***i.com. I usually answer them when I read them, and then publish them here. I just might be one of the fastest ways to get an answer... :) Anything sent here becomes the property of Beyond Dominia, unless there is some prior arrangement. If you wouldn't like your name to be printed in the letter if it gets printed at all, please mention that fact. As usual, there's no need to say not to print the e-mail address, as I don't do that. Urza
|
![]() |